Wamp on a Networked Drive?
Posted by: Efficated (---.as13285.net)
Date: July 09, 2012 12:01AM

Hello there

Bear with me if this is a stupid question, but please let me start by explaining the situation.

I am a long time PHP and MySQL developer and have used Wamp for some time however as much as I am an experienced developer, I have almost no experience setting up servers and such. I'm currently working on a web-based system for my current employer however due to corporate restrictions we cannot host the system online so will need to have my system running on a networked drive which everyone could then access from their own computers.

My question is - is this possible or even reasonable? Would *every* user need to have WAMP installed on their computer? Or could a specific drive simply be set up with WAMP or something similar to allow PHP and MySQL to run on this drive?

We have an IT team in place who I'm sure will be able to do whatever is necessary, but I'm just trying to figure out my plan of attack for rolling the system out before approaching them. (If it helps, we already have numerous network drives in place so this aspect wouldn't need to be set up.)

Appreciate any help you can provide!

Thanks

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 07/09/2012 12:02AM by Efficated.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Wamp on a Networked Drive?
Posted by: svenn (---.access.telenet.be)
Date: July 10, 2012 11:54AM

Depends on your internal "internet layout". But I think if you put your server "online" on your computer (where wamp is installed) all other people who are probably shared behind 1 router, are going to be able to connect to your computer and your installation on your router ip adress.

Most likely this ip addresses look like 192.168.... they are not accessible from out your network (at home, or me). As for Network drives, I have never worked with one, but if you can install wamp on them you could connect to that ip adres.