WAMP Update to 3.0.4 from 2.5
Posted by: jkoelker01 (---.client.mchsi.com)
Date: April 06, 2016 06:12PM

Hello, this would be my first question and I am very new to this. We had a vendor install Wampserver 2.5 onto a windows 2008 r2 server and then install wordpress for our site. I am wanting to upgrade our Wamp version to 3.0.4 to get newer versions of Apache, PHP, and MySQL. I am looking for some guidance.

I've read the Instructions on this site "Installing a new release of WAMPServer". It talks about upgrading from a 2.x version to 2.5 and it mentions that you need to remove the Apache and MySQL services before doing the install. It also mentions making a copy of your WampServer install that you have currently. In this post it says you don't have to remove the PHP service as it doesn't get updated. My problem is when looking at the versions for 3.0.4 it definitely is getting a new version. Do I need to then remove the PHP service or leave it alone?

Also I see the 3.0.3 update was able to just get installed over 2.5 without removing anything first. I'm assuming I still need to remove services and rename the current Wamp directory to do the 3.0.4 though.

I've looked through the Troubleshooting Tips as well but don't see anything mentioned about these questions for 3.0.4.

I appreciate any help in advance.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: WAMP Update to 3.0.4 from 2.5
Date: April 06, 2016 06:27PM

Windows Version 2008 R2
WampServer Version currently 2.5 32-bit
Apache Version - 2.4.9
PHP Version - 5.5.12
MySQL version - 5.6.17
WampServer icon is green and everything is functional as is. Just looking to upgrade for later versions with security updates applied.

Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: April 06, 2016 06:43PM

Hi,

> Also I see the 3.0.3 update was able to just get installed over 2.5 without removing anything first.
> I'm assuming I still need to remove services and rename the current Wamp directory to do the 3.0.4 though.
No.