Pages: Previous12
Current Page: 2 of 2
Re: Apache Error
Posted by: Idkwid (---.lv.lv.cox.net)
Date: June 18, 2014 05:07PM

Many, many thanks to Dawnforge and RiggsFolly for responding so quickly.

I'm not sure why RiggsFolly asked that I begin a new thread but I wanted to assure you guys saw this post.

It seems that the Interweb goddesses were smiling on me. I actually liked Dawnforge's reply because when I heard that MS was discontinuing support for XP I freaked out and started looking for a new machine. I heard horror stories about Win8 and found a deal at Staples for a Dell 660 with 4Gb RAM and 1TB HD running Win7 for under $500.

Anyway, with that, I'm going to install Apache 2.2 PhP and MySQL on the Win7 machine. Like I said, I'm new to server software and it's config. I've written in php for years thru a host but I've never configured it and I Don't Know What I'm Doing so while I have you, should I install Apache 2.2 VC9 or VC11. I don't know the difference. Also, are there any config settings in either Apache or PhP I should be concerned with?

Many forums said that Cox won't allow a server to run on their network. Dawnforge said her ISP is Cox. She also says (---.no.no.cox.net). What's up with that? Did you encounter any problems with Cox?

I also noticed that when I ran tests after installing Apache2.2 and PHP5 that I could only run php files placed in the htdocs folder. Is there a config setting to change so I can run php files from any folder? I always partition my machines so my OS runs on C: and all data is stored on and runs from D:

Thanks for your input and help. Cheers!!

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com)
Date: June 18, 2014 05:30PM

It does not sound ike you are installing WAMPServer it sounds like you are installing Apache and PHP seperately.

If you are running out of htdocs then you definitely didnt install WAMPServer