Using apache as proxy: "File does not exist" errors with external domains
Posted by: stewie (---.emea.ibm.com)
Date: August 07, 2013 04:54PM

Hi,

Sorry if this question is very basic, I am new to this and will appreciate your help.

I have installed WAMP and it works fine.

However, I need to use Apache as a proxy server.
I go into browser settings and switch to "Manual proxy configuration" with "localhost" and port "80".
Typing "localhost" in the browser works fine- it displays WAMP homepage.
But, the following problems are observed:

1. If I type an external domain name into the browser address bar, e.g. www.bbc.co.uk, I see the WAMP homepage (although the browser address bar still says "www.bbc.co.uk"winking smiley

2. If I type an external domain name with a path into the browser address bar, e.g. www.bbc.co.uk/news/in_pictures/, I get a "404 not found" error: "The requested URL /news/in_pictures/ was not found on this server."

Apache log says this:

"....[error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: C:/wamp/news/in_pictures/, referer: www.bbc.co.uk/news/in_pictures/".

So, it looks like any domains get automatically overwritten with the wamp installation directory path.

Any ideas why is this happening and how to resolve this?

Thank you

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Using apache as proxy: "File does not exist" errors with external domains
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: August 07, 2013 07:25PM

Hi,

>I go into browser settings and switch to "Manual proxy configuration" with "localhost" and port "80".
This simply tells the browser that you want to USE a proxy. This does not configure Apache to create and manage a proxy.
It's not that simple!
It should at least tell Apache to load one or more "proxy module" (There are ten in total). Then configure Apache (httpd.conf and others) to use a proxy.
All this is beyond my skills.

---------------------------------------------------------------