Website only accessible locally ?
Posted by: S0ld4n (---.212.142.103.getinternet.no)
Date: August 06, 2012 11:34PM

Hi,

I'm very new at this. I installed WAMP a couple of days ago and have been trying to figure things out. The problem is that I can only access my site on the same network (subnet) as the hosting computer. When I connect my laptop to my cell phone's internet, it fails to connect. (Other sites work, so it is connected to the internet)

I don't know if you need to do anything else than hit "Put Online" after you've installed it for it to work non-locally.

I have edited the 3 files inside Wamp\alias\ in the manner they specify.
I also gave the host-computer a static IP.

At first I assumed my ISP was blocking Port 80, because it showed as "blocked" on the following website:
[www.whatsmyip.org]

So I changed some files to "Listen 8080" and afterwards 81, but still couldn't access them non-locally (even if I put :8080/81 after the IP-address). Though, when I checked the Port Scanner website again, the port showed as Open. So I figured it only showed as "Blocked" because WAMP was occupying it. I changed back to "Listen 80" and now it shows as "Closed" on the Port Scanner website o.O

What have I failed to do, or done so wrongly? Any reply is extremly appreciated smiling smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Website only accessible locally ?
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.as13285.net)
Date: August 07, 2012 10:59AM

1. You need to set the PC running wamp with a static IP address.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/19249/how-to-assign-a-static-ip-address-in-xp-vista-or-windows-7/

2. Then you need to set port forwarding on your router. This allows external requests to cross the NAT barrier which is currently ignoring any and all bangs on your routers port 80.