Domain directing in WAMP?
Posted by: john.weland (---.block0.gvtc.com)
Date: January 12, 2012 12:32AM

Let me start off by saying I am extremely new to running a server. I had a spare desktop sitting around so I thought turning it in to a web server to testing out websites BEFORE buying professional grade hosting might be a good idea and I might learn a bit. 48 hours in to it, I learned LINUX makes me what to slit my own throat. So I found WAMP.

I have WAMP2.2 (x64) setup on my spare desktop which is running Windows 7. I went to godaddy and pointed two of my domains to my home IP and it works. the problem is I want mydomain1.com to point to my root folder and mydomain2.com to point to a sub folder. Currently both point to my root.

domain.no-ip.org which is my DDNS points to my root (c:/wamp/www) which is fine but I want alphamma.com to point to (c:/wamp/www/apha) I am building a website for a mixed martial arts school. I have other sites I want ot run similarly with other domains on my home server.

I can access the websites from domain.no-ip.org/folder but if I have the proper domains sitting around I'd like to use them. I called godaddy and they told me that once the domain is pointed to my IP matching the domain to the proper subfolder is all handled by the server.

Any help is appreciated.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Domain directing in WAMP?
Posted by: califdon (---.dsl.dynamic.sonic.net)
Date: January 12, 2012 03:11AM

What you are describing is called Virtual Host in Apache. It's not hard to establish that in your httpd.conf file. Look up apache virtual host in Google and you'll find lots of help.

Posted by: john.weland (---.block0.gvtc.com)
Date: January 12, 2012 04:15AM

Yup sure did and it works... or it seemed too If i am on a computer connected to the same network as the server i can hit up "domain.com" or "internal ip" and even "ISPgivenIP". the moment i jump off the network with my other laptop and go on mobile broadband i can't connect to anything.