newbie cant get off first rung
Posted by: labspencer (---.range86-149.btcentralplus.com)
Date: June 29, 2009 06:20PM

Hi, I have installed WampServer on a fresh install of WinXP Home so no IIS installed. right click the icon and the local host loads the index.php ok. Now I have placed a new folder in the www root and called it mypage and have created an index.php file and embedded a simple php command in some html as follows:

<html>
<head>
<title>PHP Test</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php echo '<p>Hello World</p>'; ?>
</body>
</html>

the web browser loads the page but the php command doesnt work, no 'hello world' only the title is there. there are no errors and i have spent a few hours trying to get it working and searching this forum- found a suggestion for adding an Addtype command to config and htaccess files and tried this but still no luck

as im just getting started and following a tutorial to get to grips with php and mysql I was hoping WampServer would be useful but cant get past square one - if anybody can help?

Leigh

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: newbie cant get off first rung
Posted by: yfastud (Moderator)
Date: June 29, 2009 06:24PM

make sure no hidden .txt in your file index.php winking smiley

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Posted by: c2dan (---.15-1.cable.virginmedia.com)
Date: June 29, 2009 07:04PM

Whenever you are running any .php file make sure you open your browser and go to [localhost]

Also not loading PHP files directly in to the browser (from windows explorer or File -> Open) is not the correct way.

Posted by: labspencer (---.opaltelecom.net)
Date: June 29, 2009 07:50PM

Hi, thanks for your replies - no hidden .txt in the filename and I open the page by using the following address [localhost] so any other ideas? Ive tried taking out all the html and just having a file with the php command but the page is still blank!

Posted by: toumimi (---.223.115-78.rev.gaoland.net)