I need help getting my SQL database onto my apache web server
Posted by: cshell_1987 (---.dhcp.insightbb.com)
Date: April 03, 2008 06:34AM

I am a Computer Networking student at ITT Tech. We have a class project. I have volunteered for the database portion. All the project requires is a simple database from Access, but seeeing as this project spans 11 weeks, I would get bored after the first couple of weeks. I have heard of MYSQL before and I decided I was going to expereiment with this program.

What I would like to do is: Create a database using MYSQL, then integrate the database onto our Apache web server using PHP. My only problem is I have no idea or guidance on how to do this, I have just been googling with little helpful results. Another classmate is setting up the Apache web server using Fedora Core 5 Linux. I just need to make the database and the code to move the database onto the website. I set up an apache web server several months ago in my introduction to Linux class but it's been a while, I'm using a different operating system for this, and there is no one present to answer my questions and guide me.

*The OS on the Apache web server is Fedora Core 5.

*The OS I am using to set up Apache, PHP, and MYSQL is Windows XP SP2 (my computer is set up to dual boot with Windows Vista and XP, I don't feel like adding a 3rd OS)

*I have downloaded WAMPSERVER 2.0 as well as Workbench (GUI for MYSQL).

*I would like to get the database running an a test Apache web server and then save the database file and php code to my flash drive, take it to school and move the data onto the Linux Apache web server and set up everything at school.

This needs to be a simple web site, with a simple one table database that people viewing the website can view and perform queries. I finished creating my database by using workbench, then I discovered you can use the PHP my admin to create a database through your browser, oh well.