PHP not working at all
Posted by: gnylakai (---.dhcp.hckr.nc.charter.com)
Date: March 14, 2008 07:23AM

I'm a bit of a newb to php, but still a good coder and can't seem to find out what is up with php on wampserver2. I have two similar code examples that should both output the same thing, yet neither of them work properly. I downloaded wampserver2 and installed it properly, but I still don't understand what is wrong. Here are the examples and their output:

Example 1:

<HTML>

<HEAD>

<TITLE>My First PHP Page</TITLE>

</HEAD>

<BODY>

<?php

echo "<p>Hello World!</p>";

?>

</BODY>

</HTML>

**********OUTPUT***********

Hello World!

"; ?>

---------------------------------------------
Example2:

<HTML>

<HEAD>

<TITLE>My First PHP Page</TITLE>

</HEAD>

<BODY>

<?php

echo "Hello World!";

?>

</BODY>

</HTML>

**********OUTPUT***********

Thats right... nothing. I am pretty positive that this is the standard convention for the php "Hello World" 'program' and I still can't seem to get it right. I'm not sure if there is a minor flaw, or if php is not installed correctly on my computer. Everything in WampServer is running and online, and my files are located in the C/Wamp/www directory.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: PHP not working at all
Posted by: toivo (---.nsw.bigpond.net.au)
Date: March 14, 2008 09:18AM

Hi,

Even though your examples are minimal in terms of HTML, both of them produce the greeting all right when run in a working server. Did you change any of the default settings?

Regards,

toivo
Sydney, Australia

Posted by: gnylakai (---.dhcp.hckr.nc.charter.com)
Date: March 15, 2008 05:47AM

My server is running correctly, as best to my knowledge. I'm running Apache 2.2.8, and when I type localhost in my firefox browser, the wampserver page comes up with the Server Configuration page.