Total Newbie - how to use Wamp with existing site
Posted by: Ha Tikvah (---.belf.cable.ntl.com)
Date: February 29, 2008 07:14PM

Hi, I operate 3 sites in total (2 with Joomla and 1 with CMSMS). Having had a total meltdown with a new installation of one of the Joomla sites, it panicked me about the viability of the other in case the same thing might happen, thus someone on their forum suggested I install WAMP so as to be able to test out mods and other things before applying them to the live site. Having installed the latest WAMP, and getting it functional I got totally lost as I couldn't figure out how to "run" a site through it - I could certainly create a new database, and got my Joomla installation to work in it, but couldn't provide a password for the site as the MySQL server part didn't seem to provide for that, or else does so in a different way to my server version.

Wondering if anyone would have the patience to walk me through the steps of getting a functional database (pref without hand coding in any shape or form as I've no knowledge of PHP), and then how to transfer my site database content into WAMP (presume I just import through myPHPAdmin??) ? Appreciate any input/help on this one as it sounds like it might be my backup/lifeline. TIA, Romayne

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Total Newbie - how to use Wamp with existing site
Posted by: stevenmartin99 (---.b-ras1.blp.dublin.eircom.net)
Date: February 29, 2008 07:16PM

when you go to http: / /localhost/phpmyadmin/ does it open?

Date: February 29, 2008 08:40PM