Localhost PHP access
Posted by: scottmacneill (---.sip.cha.bellsouth.net)
Date: January 08, 2008 09:41PM

I am a complete novice when it comes to WampServer, as will become apparent shortly.

I installed WAMP in order to develop and test some small PHP programs (scripts?) locally (i.e. Without having to FTP them to my server in order to test them) and I can't seem to get the configuration quite right.

I did a straight installation in accordance with the instructions and have the C:\wamp\www directory as indicated. I added a project folder "FBC" for my PHP scripts, also as instructed. I also make sure that WampServer is running and the required services are started.

When I try to run the scripts locally using Firefox, the best I can get is the script text reiterated on the screen, yet when I upload them to my server they actually perform and yeild the results I'm looking for. I have tried both the online and offline modes to no avail. I can get the phpinfo() function to work locally, but that's about it.

How can I get PHP to operate as a local function? Thanks in advance for your help.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Localhost PHP access
Posted by: yfastud (Moderator)
Date: January 08, 2008 09:51PM

What instructions are you talking about?

By the way, use full tag <?php ... ?> if short_open_tag in php.ini is not enabled

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Posted by: stevenmartin99 (---.b-ras1.blp.dublin.eircom.net)
Date: January 08, 2008 09:56PM

yes im sure this is ur problem. wampserver2.0 ships with short tags disabled,

left click wamp icon >phpsettings> and second from the top is short open tag. tick it

Date: January 08, 2008 09:59PM

I changed php.ini to enable the short tags but it doesn't seem to matter. PHP scripts that work fine on the server simply will not do anything on my local machine, with the exception of phpinfo().