MySQL problems with Wamp
Posted by: Evan K (---.nyc.res.rr.com)
Date: April 12, 2007 11:53PM

This is probably a stupid error i made, or something I'm overlooking. I've been using Wamp Server for about 6 months now, so I'd say i'm somewhat knowledgeable about how it works but this thing confounds me. I was cleaning my hard drive the other day and deleting a lot of folders and files. I tried to be careful with my deleting but I think I may have deleted mySql. A website I've been working on which used a lot of database manipulation was working one day, than the next it wasn't (the day after my hard drive purge). The whole php script (checklogin) freezes during my mysql_connect. Then I checked my WAMP homepage and it doesn't have the mysql extension nor does it detect it at all. The service is running, and i can get into the mysql console to access my databases. I reinstalled WAMP, reinstalled MySQL 5 and still it doesn't work. I'd post my code up but it's really not neccessary it's just your basic mysql_connect statement. I thought you didn't need to install any mysql extensions when you install WAMP, i thought it was included. My database teacher didn't understand the problem either, he just told me to reinstall WAMP Server, which I've done twice. Please help me get this working, thanks in advance to whoever responds.

QUICK EDIT: On the localhost page it does not list mysql in it's php extensions. However if i click the WAMP icon on my taskbar and go to php settings > php extensions > it lists mysql there.

Post Edited (04-12-07 23:55)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: MySQL problems with Wamp
Posted by: yfastud (---.cable.mindspring.com)
Date: April 13, 2007 12:13AM

If you installed everything by default, mysql folder should be inside wamp folder so you mostly can clean up anything outside that folder.

If you reinstall wamp, check to make sure that php_mysql and php_mysqli are enabled( ie. has a triangle in front of them).