Installing Joomla on WampServer
Posted by: OrlandoS (---.fixed.kpn.net)
Date: October 25, 2023 04:42PM

Hello,

I am a complete newby to Wampserver and Joomla. Not sure if my question belongs here or in a Joomla forum. But there seems to be some overlap … If you can help anyway, I shall appreciate that!

I successfully installed WampServer on Windows 10. The icon runs very green.

I understand that for building a new website, and installing a CMS (Joomla in my case), I need to install a Virtual Host for the new site.

Please do not be surprised if the WampServer documentation is not entirely understood. I shall indicate an ambiguity here: Documentation says "Need of Virtual Host" but there IS a Virtual Host already, as Localhost IS a Virtual Host. This is evident from the list under 'Your Virtual Hosts' at the homepage of Localhost. So, if the documentation intends to urge for the creation of a new Virtual Host for each individual project, that could have been explained more clearly. If something else was intended, than I remain utterly confused at this point. Sorry!

I made a new Virtual Host for my project. I placed all Joomla (5.0.0) files inside its folder, and in the browser it shows the Joomla Installer.

* Did I understand correctly that every project requires all the Joomla files in place inside that project's folder?

Now installing Joomla on that Virtual Host: A first input requested is "Setup Site Name - Enter the name of your Joomla site."

* Is it allowed or even required to use the same name as the name of the Virtual Host of that same project? Or is any other name acceptable in this Joomla environment?

Next, Joomla asks: Login Data
Enter the real name of your Super User.
Set the username for your Super User account.
Set the password for your Super User account.
Enter the email address of the website Super User.