Wamp or Xampp - LocalHost new to me
Posted by: Maricha (---.dynamic.telenor.dk)
Date: January 14, 2020 11:37PM

Hi.
I'm new to the thought of making a local development environment.

The web-server info:
System Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64
PHP 5.6.6
Apache 2.2.22 (Debian)
Mysqlnd 5.0.11-dev
CMS Prestashop 1.6

The workstation:
Home: Win7 64bit /16gb Ram
Work: Win10 64bit /?

I am a novice-Intermediate developer and a total newbie Prestashop'er, why I want an environment that doesn't screw up the online site.
It is preferable if I can install the LocalHost (Wamp, Xampp or...) on a portable drive, so I can use it both on work and work at home.

What do you suggest for me as a startup?

Thank you kindly.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Wamp or Xampp - LocalHost new to me
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: January 15, 2020 09:36AM

Hi,

WAMP is for: Windows Apache Mysql PHP

---------------------------------------------------------------
Documentation Apache - Documentation PHP - Documentation MySQL - Wampserver install files & addons

Posted by: RiggsFolly (Moderator)
Date: January 15, 2020 11:21AM

Hi,

What are you considering placing on the portable drive? Just site code (i.e. a VirtualHosted folder) or all of WAMPServer?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Windows 10 Pro 64bit) (Wampserver 3.3.4 64bit) Aestan Tray Menu 3.2.5.4
<Apache versions MULTIPE> <PHP versions MULTIPLE> <MySQL Versions MULTIPLE>
<MariaDB versions MULTIPLE> <phpMyAdmin versions MULTIPLE> <MySQL Workbench 8.0.23>

Read The Manuals Apache -- MySQL -- PHP -- phpMyAdmin
Get your Apache/MySQL/mariaDB/PHP ADDONs here from the WAMPServer alternate Repo
-X-X-X- Backup your databases regularly Here is How dont regret it later! Yes even when developing -X-X-X-

Date: January 16, 2020 01:14PM

Otomatic Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Hi,
>
> WAMP is for: Windows Apache Mysql PHP

Hi again.