I'm Missing something about phpbb!
Posted by: rizzocow (---.hsd1.ct.comcast.net)
Date: February 23, 2006 06:38AM

First let me point out that I am fairly new to mysql and php.
Ok, here's what I've done so far.

I installed wamp without a problem. From my understanding, the default user for phpmyadmin and sql is "root" with NO password. I copied the phpbb directory into the www directory. I was able to get to phpmyadmin as well as sqlite. When I tried to run the installation for phpbb I got the message about the @localhost not being able to connect. I cleared the cache, tried again and was able to install it when I used the root user and password. However, as we know, this is not very secure so I changed the root password by performing the following from the console:

mysql>
mysql>update mysql.user SET password=password("newpassword"winking smiley hit enter
mysql>where user="root"; hit enter
Query OK

mysql>Flush Privileges; hit enter
Query OK
mysql>quit hit enter
mysql>bye

I also edited the phpMyAdmin config.inc file to reflect the changed password for the root account. Now here's the part where I want to stick my head through the monitor! When I try to access the phpbb, I get the message " phpbb critical error cannot connect to database" I checked and double checked all that i've read here as well as everywhere else that google will allow me to check. WTF is going on??? No one here seems to have a valid answer either.! If someone can tell me what, precisely, it is that I can do to make this work, or at the very least tell me WHY it's doing what it is...then I'll be MORE than happy to fix the damn thing! I'm not lazy, I love to read and research but c'mon! With everyone who's using this app (wamp), no one has an answer to the same problem that I've seen posted here at least 50 times! ( and yes...I read every single one of them)!