Setting up Wordpress site on WAMPSERVER
Posted by: SJO (101.191.46.---)
Date: June 08, 2016 06:25AM

Hi,

I wanted to setup a wordpress site (which is already running on production) on my local PC.
I installed and setup wampserver 2.5 , installed wordpress under the root directory as "C:/Program
Files/wamp/wamp/www/wordpress" . When I open the URL localhost:88/wordpress , it opens the helloworld wordpress welcome page . Then I went onto install my wordpress site by copying the site folder under the same directory as "C:/Program Files/wamp/wamp/www/talent-awards", but this time when I open the URL localhost:88/talent-awards in the browser , it says page not found . I am new to wordpress and WAMP , so not sure what I have missed out .

Help would be greatly appreciated !

Thanks in advance

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Setting up Wordpress site on WAMPSERVER
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: June 08, 2016 06:25PM

Hi,

> I installed and setup wampserver 2.5
Why version 2.5 ? It is two years old.
Il will be better to use Wampserver 3.0.4 : WAMPserver 3 - All you need to know

> root directory as "C:/Program Files/wamp/wamp/www/wordpress"
Don't install Wampserver with a path comporting space in it as a space is the delimiter for Apache and PHP CLI parameters.
Install wampserver at a root of a disk or partition : c:\wamp\ or d:\wamp\.

> localhost:88/wordpress
Why port 88 ? The port defined for http protocol is 80

> localhost:88/wordpress
You must launch the local site by 'http://wordpress/' without adding a supplementary level localhost ; so you need to install Wordpress as VirtualHost to avoid problems : The need for Virtual Host

---------------------------------------------------------------
Documentation Apache - Documentation PHP - Documentation MySQL - Wampserver install files & addons

Posted by: SimonT (---.lightspeed.stlsmo.sbcglobal.net)
Date: June 14, 2016 08:35AM