The Homepage, Your Projects Menu
Posted by: Fiction03 (---.columbus.res.rr.com)
Date: June 29, 2014 05:59AM

Riggs,

I stumbled across all of this information as I was looking up how to enable access to my apache server on my LAN. I must say, i'm a novice apache/php user, and I've spent the better part of my evening trying to wrap my head around all of this. I believe I understand the purpose and the benefit of using virtual hosts going forward for local development, and have set it up to work for the wordpress I'm currently working on. I was hoping to ask a few questions regarding this situation as a whole from the perspective of someone this change is exactly intended for.

Version of Operating system? Win 7 64bit
Version of Wamp Server installed? 2.5
Version of Apache you are running? 2.4.9
Version of MySQL you are running? 5.6.17
Version of PHP you are running? 5.5.12
Green Icon

Up until now, I have been using 'localhost/mywebsite' to access my wordpress. After enabling virtual hosts, I'm able to access my wordpress using 'http://mywebsite/'. I've also enabled the virtual hosts menu in the wampmanager icon, and it lists my host 'mywebsite' correctly.

I plan to move this wordpress to another server that is hosted on an internal network, and I'm trying understand what it is I must do now to fix any dragons that might fire up down the road. For example, after landing on my home page at 'http://mywebsite/', I expected to click on a link and get taken to 'http://mywebsite/newapage', except I'm redirected to localhost/mywebsite/newpage. Is this intended? Or is this part of the problem I'm going to experience down the road? If so, what are my options as far as correcting this?