The BIG Question
Posted by: thebigquestion (---.20-162-184.mc.videotron.ca)
Date: August 25, 2014 09:23AM

I'm new to all this and after reading and trying different setups for over a week now, I'm totally lost and need help.

This is what I'm trying to do :

I purchased a domain name, say www.examples.com from Godaddy

at Godaddy I set it to be forwarded to my "myIPaddress:8080" as my ISP blocks port 80... ( IPaddress found from googling"what's my IP)

so now my ISP allows it through on port8080 and it enters my house where I have another dlink router set to
port forward to the pc with my server on it ( 192.168.0.101 ) on port 80
( in on my googled IPaddress port 8080 out on 192.168.0.101 port 80.

My home pc with the server on it is:

windows7 ultimate
with wamp2.5 32 bit installed

it is a fresh, completely stock install with the following changed :

after reading for a week allover the place...

I've created a folder named "examples" in my C:/wamp/www directory ( so C:/wamp/www/examples ) where I've placed my files for my website

I've added a rootpassword to my phpmyadmin database ( C:/wamp/apps/phpmyadmin4.1.14/config.inc.php
excerpt (password x'd out obviously) :
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['verbose'] = 'mysql wampserver';
//$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'cookie';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'XXXXXXXX';
/* Server parameters */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = '127.0.0.1';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = false;
/* Select mysql if your server does not have mysqli */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = false;

My windows vhosts file is as followssad smileyc:/windows/system32/drivers/ect/vhosts)
excerpt:

# Copyright (c) 1993-2006 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each