Anything Other Than Localhost?
Posted by: chugger (---.hsd1.mi.comcast.net)
Date: January 17, 2008 03:16AM

I'm new to WampServer, just stumbled upon it. I'm rebuilding my server and didnt wanna install apache, mysql and PHP all over again. This seems like a good product.

Anyways, I've installed it and all seems to be working however, I can access a test page (test.html) via

[localhost]

but if I try to get to it via:
[webserver.test.html] it doesnt work? What gives?

webserver is just the name of the computer. Seems to me like you should be able to get to it via both ways, localhost and computer name.

This is happening all internally of course. I'm not testing it off my network. Ideas?

Oh in addition, my taskbar icon when you right click on it, looks NOTHING like the first screenshot located here:[www.wampserver.com]

How do I get all those options? Thanks alot

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/17/2008 03:52AM by chugger.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Anything Other Than Localhost?
Posted by: yfastud (Moderator)
Date: January 17, 2008 04:42AM

Check the guides on my websites for all your questions

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Posted by: chugger (---.area4.spcsdns.net)
Date: January 17, 2008 02:39PM

I've read the guides and answered my second question.

However the guides show NOTHING in regards on how to access the site other than localhost. I'm not trying to reach it from the WWW just internal. So I should be able to access it via computer name (i.e [webserver])

Date: January 17, 2008 03:03PM

Are you sure? Did you check Setup LAN and Worldwide Access and Setup Virtual Hosts?

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Date: January 17, 2008 04:17PM