PHP MyAdmin does not allow login without password
Posted by: CodeRedd (---.hsd1.mi.comcast.net)
Date: May 23, 2012 10:00PM

Hey all,

I am new to WAMP Server--I just installed the 64-bit version of WAMPServer 2.2 on my Windows 7 64-bit machine, and I'm having trouble accessing phpMyAdmin and the MySQL console.

The problem:
-When attempting to login to phpMyAdmin at [localhost], when I attempt to use the default blank password with username root, I am told that: "Login without a password is forbidden by configuration (see AllowNoPassword)".

-I have examined the config.inc.php file and verified that the password and blank password lines are set as follows (direct copy):
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = TRUE;

-These lines are uncommented

-I have restarted all services as well as restarting the server from scratch, with no effect.

-I do not have Skype open (or any other program that has been listed as problematic)

Possibly related problem:
-When I attempt to login to phpMyAdmin as root using any non-blank password, I get the error: "#1045 Cannot log in to the MySQL server".

-Just to give it a shot, since I saw that the main localhost page is from the BitNami WAMPStack, I tried the BitNami standard password of 'bitnami', with the same effect as other nonblank passwords.

-I have not at any point accessed the MySQL db yet or configured it--everything is as it was on install.

-I have verified that I cannot login to the MySQL console either. Typing any password--blank, bitnami, or otherwise. The console immediately gives a loud beep and auto closes. I can see an error flash on the console as it is closing, which appears to be the #1045 error as described by others on this forum, but I can't verify the details to be sure because the window closes too fast.

-relevant my.ini data is as follows:
#password = your_password
port = 3306
socket = /tmp/mysql.sock