localhost.localhost
Posted by: wadams92101 (---.dsl.sndg02.sbcglobal.net)
Date: April 21, 2010 07:33PM

I did a re-installation of the wampserver. Now when I click on the tray icon menu item "localhost," it directs me to [localhost.localhost.localdomain]. How do I fix this? I.e., How do I get it to take me to [localhost.localdomain] like it did before the reinstallation?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: localhost.localhost
Posted by: yfastud (Moderator)
Date: April 22, 2010 12:22AM

seems you have htaccess w/ rewrite rule in project folder; you might need to reinstall that script

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Date: April 22, 2010 06:53PM

htaccess is in www. As a newbie, I'm not sure what you mean. What do I have to do?

Date: April 22, 2010 07:13PM

Thanks for your prompt response. Actually, as I look at this more closely, I see that when I click on localhost in the wamp tray icon, its trying to go to [localhost] instead of localhost.localdomain; then it is substituting the "[localhost.localdomain]; in the browser (its a wordpress site), and the page that is pulled up has the message: "The blog you were looking for, [localhost.localhost.localdomain] doesn't exist but you can create it now!"

Previosly, it went straight to the welcome page of the site at [localhost.localdomain]. What changed? How can I change it back?

Posted by: c2dan (---.15-1.cable.virginmedia.com)
Date: April 22, 2010 10:15PM

When WAMP is installed it doesn't setup any domains. Only the address [localhost] will work.

localhost.localdomain needs to be setup as a virtualhost and added to the hosts file in order for it work properly. It seems the issue is more to do with Wordpress or the web address you're using.

You need to be more specific with what you're doing.

Posted by: yfastud (Moderator)
Date: April 23, 2010 04:25AM

Posted by: itstnew (---.ss.shawcable.net)
Date: May 05, 2010 02:22PM