Import an existing list from Excel
Posted by: Roguish (---.brig.adsl.virgin.net)
Date: March 20, 2008 10:35AM

I have had WAMPServer for about 2 months and have tried and tried but to no avail to import an existing list of search records from an Excel file. For some reason I cannot even import a single record and would be grateful if someone could help.

I am a complete novice with this and cannot find anywhere the process of how and what you upload. I realise that there is some script needed to create the search page.

So, any help with

Importing data, and
Uploading

would be great!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Import an existing list from Excel
Posted by: toivo (203.19.130.---)
Date: March 20, 2008 11:09AM

Hi,

If you save the Excel file as tab limited file or 'Text (Tab delimited) (*.txt)', you can then import it into an existing MySQL table either through a query in MySQL Query Browser or equivalent, or write a script to do that.

Here is an example of the query that does the import from the c:\temp folder of the local workstation, which is not the same as the MySQL server:

LOAD DATA LOCAL INFILE "c:/temp/example.tab.txt"
INTO TABLE `my_database`.`my_table`
IGNORE 1 LINES

For more info, check out the MySQL reference manual at [dev.mysql.com]

PHP has functions to read CSV (comma separated value) files, but saving Excel spreadsheets as CSV files produce inconsistent results if some of your alphanumeric fields have commas. I found tab limited files easier to handle. You may still have to write an import script to convert the values like remove quotation marks from alpha fields.

Regards,

toivo
Sydney, Australia

Date: March 20, 2008 01:00PM

Thanks for your reply toivo!