newbie - domain information
Posted by: tkachukl@shaw.ca (---.cg.shawcable.net)
Date: March 11, 2008 06:59PM

Hi - I'm very new to all this so bear with me. I've installed the Wamp and everything seems to be working fine. I'm working on Vista and using dreamweaver. In order for my php pages to view properly I need to view them through 'localhost'. I'm making sites for customers so how do I get the finished product up under their domain name?

Sorry if this sounds ridiculous - like I said - very new...

Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: newbie - domain information
Posted by: yfastud (Moderator)
Date: March 11, 2008 07:24PM

You should use relative paths for all pages so no matter where they are, they still work the same

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Date: March 11, 2008 09:19PM

I'm sorry. What does that mean? For example, if my site is www.mysite.com, where is the 'localhost' part of it?

thanks

Date: March 12, 2008 01:08AM

Oh wow!!! You're really really "green", huh?

For example, you want to create a website that has 3 web pages and the first page has the links to the other 2 pages, so what would you do? Of course, you don't name them www.mysite.com.html or localhost.html, but you would name them as follows: index.html, page2.html, and page3.html, and inside first file index.html, you have the links for the other pages as follows:

Relative paths:
<a href="page2.html">Page 2</a>
<a href="page3.html">Page 3</a>

Absolute paths:
<a href="[www.mysite.com] 2</a>
<a href="[www.mysite.com] 3</a>

<a href="[localhost] 2</a>
<a href="[localhost] 3</a>

As mentioned, you should use relative paths instead absolute paths

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Date: March 12, 2008 03:15AM

Hi again,