wamp email
Posted by: amarocket (---.amrlcmta01.tx.dh.suddenlink.net)
Date: February 17, 2008 03:38AM

I'm totally new at this stuff so excuse my ignorance. I have a web form and a php program that will send the form to my email address. So far all the stuff I have done has been on my desktop and I have not uploaded anything to our clubs hosting server yet. Is there a way for me to test my form and actually find out if it does send the email to me without having to upload it to the hosting server? To my knowledge I have WAMP setup to be used just locally on my desktop. The reason I downloaded WAMP was to test a PHP RSS reader I included in one of my webpages. If there is a way to email the form please explain things in real simple terms since this is not my normal skill area.

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: wamp email
Posted by: yfastud (Moderator)
Date: February 17, 2008 03:49AM

wamp does NOT come w/ mail server, refer to this thread:

[forum.wampserver.com]

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Posted by: DJ_MELERIX (201.215.82.---)
Date: February 17, 2008 03:15PM

Use SMTP from windows winking smiley

Date: February 17, 2008 03:45PM

He he... he he... ;-)
DJ, he didn't know how to, so if you really like to share, you should post steps for him, especially security to prevent spammers' spybots

Have fun,

FREE One A Day
FREE Photo
FREE Games
FREE Websites
FREE Portable GPS
FREE WAMP Guides

Posted by: toivo (---.nsw.bigpond.net.au)
Date: February 18, 2008 08:46PM

Hi,

You do not need to install a mail server in your WAMP box. You can configure the STMP settings of PHP to point to another server in your LAN which runs an SMTP server, or to the SMTP server of your ISP. The SMTP settings are documented at [php.net].

You can then use the mail() function of PHP, or a class like phpMailer, to send messages.