Help with CGI
Posted by: vigilante (---.phnx.qwest.net)
Date: July 26, 2007 09:05PM

Hi, I'm running WAMP 5_1.7.0.

I have to transfer, and update and edit a web site from one host to another. I have downloaded the entire site via their own archive utility, but before I upload it to the new host, I am updating, fixing and adding to the site on my OWN server running this version of WAMP.

So I have extracted all the files and tried to to run it as-is just for kicks, but am running into problems with their CGI scripts. Their cgi-bin was in the main public_html, and my sgi-big in registered in the apache2 folder in the root folder of my wamp install. I don't know how this affects running the cgis, because they are relatively called. For example in code when he runs a counter as just "cgi-bin/counter.cgi".
However, the cgis don't "run" they just open as plain text in the browser.

I have no experience with CGI, I use PHP and javascript and stuff, matter of fact I want to remove CGIs from this site. However, I do want to understand what's going on. I moved their scripts into the cgi-bin that is registered in httpd.conf but that didn't work. I don't know how to make sure my server is set up to interpret them, where the settings are, security, etc... I don't know why they are showing as plain text instead of being interpreted.

So if somebody could explain to me how WAMP deals with cgis, and what I need to do to enable them or whatever. Can I "test" my cgi install to make sure it's working? How?

Thanks!

On the edge of insanity

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Help with CGI
Posted by: yfastud (---.mia.bellsouth.net)
Date: July 26, 2007 11:12PM

Search cgi + my username, you might run into my old posts for the solution. If still can't get it, email me

Have fun,

[www.jlbn.net] (Basic Guide for WAMP)

Re: Help with CGI
Posted by: vigilante (---.phnx.qwest.net)
Date: July 31, 2007 07:10PM

OK it's fixed.