Change default password post-install
Posted by: Bill Levis (---.proxy.aol.com)
Date: May 12, 2007 01:46PM

The WAMP2 download and install was a breeze -- 20-30 minutes max. Problem free, too. Count me in as a big WAMPS fan.

However, I'm stymied with WAMPS' reco right after installation to "first change MySQL' root default password. You can do it threw PHPmyadmin" (from "How to install"winking smiley. I've been going over \wamp\phpmyadmin\Documentation.html for an hour or more and, so far, haven't found guidance on how to change the password. Any suggestions? [*** LATER --> found the recommended WAMP5 Manual! -- see following messages]

I'm new to PHP/mysql. And, to password management (if there is such a thing).

Post Edited (05-13-07 12:01)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Change default password post-install
Posted by: CyberSpatium (71.237.217.---)
Date: May 12, 2007 03:27PM

read the phpmyadmin section of my manual

CyberSpatium
----------------------
WAMP English Forum Admin

Need help? Check out my WAMP User Manual/Guide here!

Check out my new blog. It is for web developers, and especially tailored for the web development newbie. If you are not fluent in “geek speak”, then this incredible resource is just you. And even if you are a web development pro, this is a great resource to check out some of the latest web development tips, news, tutorials, codes and more.

Web Development for Newbie's Blog

Date: May 12, 2007 04:29PM

I really, really appreciate your response.

Right after I posted my message, I did find your manual and got to:

"phpMyAdmin

Changing Your Root User’s Password

Step 1: To change your root user’s password, we will be using phpMyAdmin to configure your users permissions table. So, make you have both Apache and MySQL up and running. Open your browser and type: [localhost] and you will be taken to the main phpMyAdmin home page."