help me please i'm freakin out
Posted by: Vancey (---.home.cgocable.net)
Date: August 08, 2006 06:10AM

i have installed and uninstalled wamp about 10 times already today..
i can't seem to get it to work
i downloaded the newest wamp, and the add-ons.. i'm watchin a php video to learn it thru lynda.com and i can't get my server to run..
when i type
[localhost] in my browser after i set up wamp it comes up and says ad removed by tweak xp.. same thing when i try to open the phpadmin and mysql from the menu on the actual program in the system tray.
the apache service won't work says my port is being used i've tried going into that notepad config and changing the port to 8080 and it still won't work
i'm ready to give up someone please help me i'm a total newbie..
i've been reading the forums all day and can't seem to find a solution to my problem..
do i need to uninstall my tweak xp pro program so that the server will display or what? i have no idea

i read on another post that the wamp homepage won't show unless apache is workin.. well my apache isn't workin so maybe step one is to get that going?
it's giving me a port 80 error and i tried to switch the port in the notepad config but it didn't appear to do anything.. HELP!!!!

Post Edited (08-08-06 09:07)

be patient with newbs.. u were once a newb too tongue sticking out smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: help me please i'm freakin out
Posted by: CyberSpatium (67.170.181.---)
Date: August 08, 2006 09:25AM

do you have windows xp pro, 2000, or 2003? if so, they have IIS which is microsofts webserver. if it is running, it uses the same port as apache. it that port is being used by IIS or any other program, apache will not start.

Date: August 08, 2006 09:43AM

i have windows xp pro
i don't know if it is runnin IIS.. how can i disable it or get rid of it so that apache will work. i'm pretty much a huge newb so bare with me here
it said somethin about it might be skype.. but i don't have that

Date: August 08, 2006 10:13AM