Unresponsive Tray Icon
Posted by: VeloSteve (---.hsd1.ca.comcast.net)
Date: April 18, 2024 06:02AM

As a newbie here I was surprised that my forum search did not find anything when looking for terms like right click. Dozens of discussions turn up when searching "right click WAMP" on Google, but so far no good answers.

Starting a little backwards, I would be happy with an answer to either of these.
1) How fix the problem I describe below.
2) How to follow instructions for Wampserver in spite of not being able to solve this.

The problem is that the green WampServer icon is not responsive to left or right clicks. It just ignores them. Double click also does nothing. It does say "WAMPSERVER - All services running" in response to hovering.

What I have tried:
run checkvcredist
manually install each missing C++ redistributable
install the packaged set of redistributables
searched Google and read several StackOverlow and other forum posts
watched and followed a YouTube video
uninstalled and reinstalled WAMP 3.3.2 several times
updated to 3.3.4
Moved the WampServer icon from the hidden area by pinning it
This was interspersed with multiple reboots of the machine, manual shutdowns of wampmanager.exe and so on.

I could live with accessing the right and left-click actions some other way, but I am new to this and I don't know what is possible. As it is, for example I can stop Wampserver from the task manager by using "end process tree", but I don't know how to stop it gracefully as suggested in the troubleshooting document.

The 13 questions:
1) Windows 11 Pro, 64 bit
2) 3.3.4, 64 bit (same results with 3.3.2)
3) Apache 2.4.58
4) PHP 8.2.13 [Apache module]
5) MySQL 8.2.0
5a) 11.2.2, but not using it
6) Green
7) hosts active lines:
192.168.32.12 nas4
# Edge
0.0.0.0 pipe.aria.microsoft.com
0.0.0.0 assets.msn.com
0.0.0.0 web.vortex.data.microsoft.com
0.0.0.0 browser.events.data.msn.com
0.0.0.0 www.msn.com
0.0.0.0 sb.scorecardresearch.com
127.0.0.1 ky2022
::1 ky2022