MySQL 5.7.42 and prior and 8.0.31 and prior reporting major vulnerabilities
Posted by: ChrisRG (129.205.129.---)
Date: November 24, 2023 11:09AM

Hi,

Disclaimer: i have no prior experience of this whole setup as it was set up by the previous IT manager and left without leaving any documentation.

Basically, our vulnerability management tool picked that there are multiple issues with Wampserver, Apache, PHPadmin and MySQL. I managed to upgrade Wampserver 32bit to version 3.3.1, PHP to 8.0.28 (Even though it is now complaining that it needs to be on V8.0.30), Apache to V2.4.57.1 and MySQL to V5.7.31. The main issue now is that from our vulnerability it says that MySQL 5.7.43 and prior and 8.0.34 and prior, 8.1.0 are affected by this vulnerability and the recommendation is to upgrade to the latest version of the Oracle MySQL server.
I checked the upgraded version for WampServer 32 bit but it only goes as far as 5.7.42 which is also vulnerable to this exploit.
I also saw that there's a discontinuation of 32bit support for Wampserver, is that correct? If so, how so then here are my questions:
1- How do you move from Wampserver 32 to 64 bit?
2- From PHPAdmin, how do you move the database from old MySQL version to a newer version? All I've been reading is about export and import but it doesn't really say where we differentiate version and make the new one default.

Your assistance and patience in sorting out this matter would greatly be appreciated.

Regards
Chris

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: MySQL 5.7.42 and prior and 8.0.31 and prior reporting major vulnerabilities
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: November 24, 2023 11:39AM

Hi,

> 1- How do you move from Wampserver 32 to 64 bit?