Access WAMP websites from local area network
Posted by: dr_coder (94.177.148.---)
Date: May 12, 2021 09:54AM

I have been using WampServer for years: there are 20 plus projects in my "www" directory. A good half of these are local versions of online websites which need regular maintenance and update.

To test the websites on a range of devices, I have been accessing the WampServer 'websites' via the (fixed) IP address of the computer on which WampServer is running. Yesterday I upgraded to the latest version of WampServer (in order to use the newer version of PHP: I have been a PHP programmer since PHP first appeared.)

I have a range of devices on which I need to access the WampServer 'sites', including:
an iPad,
an Amazon Fire tablet,
an Android phone.
I need to test on the actual devices because browser simulations are OFTEN inaccurate.

How do I access these WampServer 'sites' from my LAN devices now that each site is now a virtual host? I have tried everything I can think of, but so far nothing has worked.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Access WAMP websites from local area network
Posted by: RiggsFolly (Moderator)
Date: May 12, 2021 11:12AM

Hi,

Have a look at this post on StackOverflow to see how I made this work

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Windows 10 Pro 64bit) (Wampserver 3.3.4 64bit) Aestan Tray Menu 3.2.5.4
<Apache versions MULTIPE> <PHP versions MULTIPLE> <MySQL Versions MULTIPLE>
<MariaDB versions MULTIPLE> <phpMyAdmin versions MULTIPLE> <MySQL Workbench 8.0.23>

Read The Manuals Apache -- MySQL -- PHP -- phpMyAdmin
Get your Apache/MySQL/mariaDB/PHP ADDONs here from the WAMPServer alternate Repo
-X-X-X- Backup your databases regularly Here is How dont regret it later! Yes even when developing -X-X-X-

Date: May 12, 2021 02:28PM

Thank you. I will begin to follow your lead, and let you know how it works out.

Date: May 13, 2021 05:02PM