Newbie ques. Multiple dev sites in WAMP
Posted by: Sirius (---.singnet.com.sg)
Date: May 27, 2006 10:27PM

Gooday, first of all, I would like to say that I am new to WAMP and web development in general so pls. bear with me. I hv installed the latest version of WAMP and manage to get it up and running (not that it's difficult, thanks to it's developers).

I would like to know how can I set up multiple web sites using only 1 copy of WAMP. I read from the forum that VirtualHost may fit the bill but since I am using WAMP just for development purpose, I don't hv several spare IPs available. I also read about using different listening ports but I can't quite grasp the concept. Can anyone advise me how I can create something like these:

[localhost]
[localhost]

Thanks in advance.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Newbie ques. Multiple dev sites in WAMP
Posted by: CyberSpatium (67.170.181.---)
Date: May 28, 2006 12:24AM

One of the main reasons virtual host was included in apache was so one server, with one ip address could host unlimited websites with that one ip instead of having to use an ip for every website. The port has nothing to do with virtual hosting, so do not change that. If only you are going to be accessing your wamp sites, you can just edit your windows hosts file:

open:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts (open this with NotePad, not WordPad or MS Word)

Towards the bottom of the file, you will see:
127.0.0.1 localhost

Below that add:

127.0.0.1 testsite1.com
127.0.0.1 testsite2.com

Save the file. Open up apache conf file httpd.conf (again with Notepad,not with WordPad or MS Word)
C:\wamp\Apache2\conf\httpd.conf

Find this line:

#NameVirtualHost *:80

Change it to:

NameVirtualHost *:80

#
#### testsite1.com ####
#

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@testsite1.com
DocumentRoot C:/wamp/users/www.testsite1.com/public_html
ServerName www.testsite1.com
ServerAlias testsite1.com
ErrorLog C:/wamp/users/www.testsite1.com/logs/error.log