Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
php Session Cookie not stored issue in Chrome, Edge and Opera
Posted by: Gemsteal (---.12-2.cable.virginm.net)
Date: December 09, 2020 11:38AM

Hit a bit of a problem I can't seem to solve or find a answer through googling or trawling through the trouble shooting guide/ forum topics.

I hope it's just something simple that I am just missing it!

I have been running Wampserver for few years as a local host while I develop my php skills to write a php website using dreamweaver (I class myself as a newbie always willing to learn). I Have been doing it piecemeal for about 2 years and Wamp has been great as a local host. Things were going great when I last worked at it in April this year and then for various reason had to stop.

I picked up the project again about two weeks ago and suddenly found when i opened my development site in Chrome, Edge, and Opera it would not work properly. But it worked OK in Firefox and the old internet explorer.

Looking at the DevTools 'Issues' I could see they first three had issues with the php session cookies - a samesite / secure issue.
'
'Indicate whether a cookie is intended to be set in a cross-site context by specifying its SameSite attribute

Because a cookie's SameSite attribute was not set or is invalid, it defaults to SameSite=Lax, which prevents the cookie from being set in a cross-site context. This behavior protects user data from accidentally leaking to third parties and cross-site request forgery.

Resolve this issue by updating the attributes of the cookie:
Specify SameSite=None and Secure if the cookie is intended to be set in cross-site contexts. Note that only cookies sent over HTTPS may use the Secure attribute.
Specify SameSite=Strict or SameSite=Lax if the cookie should not be set by cross-site requests'

Firefox and internet explorer were happy not to have samesite undefined and not secure.