Moving an install to a new PC (Win 7 to Win 10)
Posted by: thecalcentre (---.range81-130.btcentralplus.com)
Date: September 21, 2020 04:37PM

Hi All, I am afraid I am not an IT techie, and require some help/advice regarding moving an install....

Basically, we had a programmer write us a technical database utility whereby our in-house engineers could access the database and obtain fault information whilst repairing test equipment - they could also upload new faults etc along with technical information (datsa/spec sheets etc) - this was done many years ago and hosted on a Windows XP machine - when XP migrated to Windows 7 he came back and spent some time altering things to get it running on our Windows 7 machine - now Windows 7 has reached end-of-life, we are now running a building full of new Windows 10 machines, however we have this database running on an old Windows 7 machine, that is constantly crashing and freezing up - we need to now migrate onto a Win 10 machine.

I have installed WAMP server onto a machine and it all operates error free - but don't know what to do from here - I don't understand how the structure works to get the 'data' over from the old system to the new - is this something somebody could help with - willing to pay for remote access and install if this is what is required?

I know my way around a computer but this is out of my league - any help would be massively appreciated!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Moving an install to a new PC (Win 7 to Win 10)
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: September 21, 2020 04:50PM

Hi,

Basically, it's the same approach as Install a new release of Wampserver

You need to back up your local sites to a USB key or external drive and export your databases to SQL files and then restore them to the new installation.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Documentation Apache - Documentation PHP - Documentation MySQL - Wampserver install files & addons

Date: September 30, 2020 01:27PM