Error 404 localhost in Wampserver 2018
Posted by: Pisco (---.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com)
Date: October 16, 2018 11:31PM

Hi guys, I recently downloaded WAMP. I installed it on my WIN10 and I had lots of problems. The icon is green but I can't connect to my local host. It shows me a white page with the message; HTTP ERROR 404 page not found. To turn the icon green I changed ports in Apache going to Wamp server -> Apache -> httpd.conf using 8080 instead of the default 80.

I also downloaded the last version of Visual C ++ (I have 2015 for x64 and for x86) Shall I delete the old versions of C++? I have 2005, 2012 and 2013 only for x64.
I also stopped Skype that was using the same port as Apache. I changed as well, the port 80 of phpmyadmin, howerver, I have to type on my browser :8080 just after localhost every time I want to connect it. Could anybody please help me out. I am not an IT expert so if anybody knows what should I do, I would appreciate if I could be guided step by step to fix these problems, as the icon is green but I can only connect to PHPmyadmin but in an annoying way. Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Error 404 localhost in Wampserver 2018
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: October 17, 2018 09:36AM

Hi,

- 1 - Verify that all VC ++ packages are installed and with the latest versions.
To do this, use the tool:
Checks VC++ packages installed
Do not use a previously loaded tool. Make a new download to make sure you are using the correct version.
To download missing packages, do not rely on Microsoft links, they are not reliable, download packages on http://wampserver.aviatechno.net in section Visual C++ Redistribuable Packages
Do not forget that if you have a 64 bit Windows, you must install both 32 and 64 bit versions of each package.
You must install each package "as an administrator", so right-click the exe file and then run as Administrator.