Hacked?
Posted by: stud~muffin (---.dhcp.ftwo.tx.charter.com)
Date: March 25, 2006 05:27AM

yeah...I have a major question. I'm still new to this server stuff. and Strictly PHP. I have a question to how secure this is..I was using it just fine for about 11 days. then all the sudden my computer's Internet Explorer crashed. I couldn't connect to the internet with it, or anything else with port 80 on my computer. MSN Messanger worked fine, and email worked fine. But even entering [localhost] was coming back 404'd.

I have a question to how many hackers there REALLY are in this world...and if it's possible that I got hacked?

I've completly Reinstalled my computer(I usualy do that every 3 months anyway), but I'm still installing Windows Updates before I reload my server.

At the time. I had ports 80, 25, and 3306. I recently noticed I also had port 21 (ftp port i belive) activated.
I had Wamp installed, with PHP5 and apache 2.
I also had a Free Email Server program called mailtrax running.
On my server I had some files, a Private folder Set for One IP to access, and a www.phpbb.com forum installed to the server.

How safe is Wamp? I hadn't added Any mod's into PHP, or APACHE, other than the ones already installed and set that Wamp actived when It was installed.

Could it be Possible I was hacked?

If i WAS hacked because of Wamp's, Insecurity. How can I fix that problem?

If anyone can help me I would be MOST appreciative

Nooby-teen!! Learning about PHP and apache and Lovin' it!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Hacked?
Posted by: CyberSpatium (---.hsd1.or.comcast.net)
Date: March 25, 2006 06:58AM

If IE craches, it is a probem with IE.

WAMP is a very insecure server. it does not have any security in place. it was desgined to be for testing and development only, not for hosting websites.