New to WAMP: Error trying to open my Virtual Host site on my local PC
Posted by: jcrider (---.skybroadband.com)
Date: March 25, 2018 07:05PM

All,

I should be grateful for any help you could give me to resolve this, which [I hope] is a very simple solution and down to user buffoonery [i.e. me].

I am very new to WAMP and WordPress, which I started looking at over 6 months ago before having to put it on hold due to various reasons.

At the time I had several test sites on my local PC (Virtual hosts) that I access by:

- Opening WAMP
- Then Opening the Sites via the URL I has chosen.

This always worked well, but since then I am now unable to open the sites.

In trying to resolve this, I have created yet another site, but with the same issue occurring. I have taken 8 screenshots showing the steps I am taking, but I don't seem to be able to insert the images here, or create an image link. Nonetheless, I did this following:

1. [imgur.com] Created a new folder and put the WordPress files within it
2. [imgur.com] Opening localhost I created a new virtual site
3. [imgur.com] Gave the virtual host a name and entered to folder location that I created from Step 1
4. [imgur.com] The next screen confirms the virtual host has been successfully created
5. [imgur.com] Restarted the DNS server on my local PC
6. [imgur.com] With the DNS restarted I open a new browser window and entering the new site .dev name
7. [imgur.com] This is the error message I get
8. [imgur.com] This is how I would expect it to look. The image was taken from the Lynda.com course

Again, I am very new to all this and what I know I have learnt purely from through Lynda.com.

Needless to say, I don't really know what else to do and am naturally reluctant to uninstall, then reinstall in the 'hope' that might fix it.

Any suggestions to fixing it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

JC

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: New to WAMP: Error trying to open my Virtual Host site on my local PC