Socket path issue
Posted by: AnsarM (---.lightspeed.frokca.sbcglobal.net)
Date: August 03, 2018 01:48PM

Hi, I am new to wampserver and databases. I am using a program called ecobable userbase to have a registration login page on my website. I have made a database in myphpadmin. I am now trying to connect my software to my database but keep getting this error

Error connecting to database. Please adjust your db prefs if necessary. The error was: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

I have checked my (my.ini) file and it says the following

socket = /tmp/mysql.sock

I have looked everywhere for how to change the path my software is using to connect to the database. I seen something that says

"This error occurs due to multiple installations of MySQL, in the operating system."

I did have wamp and mysql on my computer at the same time, so, I uninstalled everything and reinstalled everything, and I still get this message.Can I solve this issue with wamp. Everything is try from looking it up is not working!

Please help me!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Socket path issue
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: August 03, 2018 02:04PM

Hi,

It's not a socket issue.
> "This error occurs due to multiple installations of MySQL, in the operating system."
Wampserver includes a MySQL server and you cannot have two MySQL servers at the same time.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Documentation Apache - Documentation PHP - Documentation MySQL - Wampserver install files & addons

Posted by: AnsarM (---.lightspeed.frokca.sbcglobal.net)
Date: August 03, 2018 02:12PM

Thank you for the response,

I understand that, and I deleted the other mysql, I mean uninstalled it. Is there more I need to do in order to ensure all traces of it is gone. Is there a way I can check this!

Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: August 03, 2018 02:29PM

Hi,