Issues with Apache 2.4 and WampServer running side-by-side on Windows
Posted by: codeslayer2010 (---.se.biz.rr.com)
Date: June 25, 2018 11:11PM

THE ISSUE

I'm trying to run Apache 2.4 in a standalone installation with PHP and MySQL, all manually configured alongside my WAMPServer. This means I have two separate servers running side-by-side.

I was following a tutorial from 2015 on how to run two apache installs side-by-side on Windows. At a certain point it the instructions on screen didn't match up with what I was seeing on my system. I filled in the gaps a figured out some workarounds by Googling and researching some Stack Overflow posts.

Eventually, I did get both installs running side by-side by setting up some virtual hosts. I'm a newbie when it comes to Apache and virtual hosts, so I don't really understand the internals of virtual hosts on a deep level, but I think I get the general concept: it is like a symlink or alias for a URL or IP address that might be typed into your browser's address bar.

MY SYSTEM SETUP:
1 - Windows version: Windows 10 64-bit
2 - Version WampServer: 3.1.3 32-bit
3 - Apache 2.4.33 - PHP 5.6.35
4 - MySQL 5.7.21
5 - MariaDB 10.2.14
6 - PHP 5.6.35 for CLI (Command-Line Interface)
7 - WampServer Icon Color: ORANGE

MY CODE

Here is the setup that worked:

# Virtual Hosts
#

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName localhost
ServerAlias localhost
DocumentRoot "${INSTALL_DIR}/www"
<Directory "${INSTALL_DIR}/www/">
Options +Indexes +Includes +FollowSymLinks +MultiViews
AllowOverride All
Require local
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:90>
ServerName myalbums
ServerAlias myalbums
DocumentRoot "${INSTALL_DIR}/www/myalbums/public"
<Directory "${INSTALL_DIR}/www/myalbums/public">
Options +Indexes +Includes +FollowSymLinks +MultiViews
AllowOverride All
Require local
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>

A BIT OF BACKGROUND