File path issue
Posted by: martinvanstein (---.cm-3-4b.dynamic.ziggo.nl)
Date: May 22, 2018 07:47PM

Hi all,

I have used Duplicator Pro to back up my site ( which uses the themify plugin) to a local WAMP installation .
Now I am far from a professional developer, but I installed an additional PHP version, got my mysql database imported properly and at a first glimpse it all seemed to be unicorns and rainbows and it seemed I could start working on my site.

Unfortunately I am running into a strange URL problem.

You see my original site had a file path like this:
www.mywebsite.com/wp-content/uploads/year/month/filename.png

And I expected to get a "local" link like this:
localhost/mywebsite/wp-content/uploads/year/month/filename.png

Instead I get this:
localhost/mywebsite/C:/wamp64/wwww/mywebsite/wp-content/uploads/year/month/filename.png

So for some reason it injects this into the URL:
C:/wamp64/wwww/mywebsite/

Now if it was just an aesthetic problem I wouldn't mind, but it defaults to this link and thusfar I have found that it is impossible to install plugins and browse to upload images to the new site ...yes I can do everything by hand but I rather just fix it, as at some point I need to reimport it to the live environment and I would like to minimise the possible ef ups as much as possible.

I have contacted support for the plugin as well as the theme and posted on Wordpress support, but at this point I have only gotten some basic responses ( send log files, try XAMP, I don't have that problem when I do it) and I honestly think this file path must be defined somewhere and therefore it should be editable.
But I can't find where it is as none of the topics I have found are related to the issue I have

Thanks in advance for the help

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: File path issue
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: May 23, 2018 09:25AM

Hi,

CMS and WEB applications, and Wordpress in particular, must be installed in a VirualHost, as with all hosts.