No themes or images when put online
Posted by: Pierce Da Dev (---.knology.net)
Date: December 19, 2017 05:38AM

1 - WIn 10 64bit
2 - WampServer 3.1.0 64bit
3 - Apache 2.4.27
4 - PHP 5.6.31
5 - MySQL 5.7.19
5a - MariaDB 10.2.8
6 - WampServerStatus: Green

I have just started using WAMPServer 3.1.0, and I'm trying to temporarily put my "site" online. I got it online and can reach it through myip:80/wordpress, but the theme and images won't show. I'm new to WP and PHP, apache, and all that so I am lost on what I need to change... I know I need to change where apache looks to grab the images and theme but I'm not sure on which folder/file it is in.

from what it looks like the themes and everything are trying to point to localhost. Where do i go to change that to myip:80?

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 12/19/2017 06:38AM by Pierce Da Dev.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: No themes or images when put online
Posted by: RiggsFolly (Moderator)
Date: December 19, 2017 11:57AM

Hi Pierce,

WordPress is a bit of a beast in this area. But it is WordPress that is causing you these issues.

When you install WordPress it stores the domain name/URL in its database. So if you installed it into `localhost/wordpress` then that url will be remembered and used when trying to find assets like the ones you mention as well as others.

The solution is either to amend the remembered url in its database, you can find info on the wordpress site telling you how to do this or you install it into an Apache Virtual Host, which is our suggestion.
If you setup a Dynamic DNS domain name, for example `xxx.dyndns.net`and then create a Virtual Host with that name pointing to your routers WAN ip address things should work.

Of course none of this is simple and straight forward and requires a bit of knowledge and experience.

Final Note: