Confused
Posted by: Rauf (166.121.37.---)
Date: February 24, 2006 04:15AM

Hi people. I am new here and i am was hoping this community might be able to help with some questions that i currently have. It is my first time working with servers and i am now working in a school that currently have a paid host server. I have chceked the information on the host server and it says that it supports Apache 1.3.34, MySQL 4.0.25 and PHP 4.4.2. Now i am going to be working on my school's website and it uses PHP( my first time with PHP). Once i have worked on the website using Dreamweaver from the local machine in school, i will upload them to the host server. Now I am wondering if i were to download the latest version of the WAMP server which is WAMP5 1.6.1 and install it on my local machine, will it be able to work with the host nserver which has different versions of the 3 modules i mentioned earlier? Please help! It will be deeply appreciated.

Rauf

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Confused
Posted by: RealNubSlayer (---.hsd1.ma.comcast.net)
Date: February 24, 2006 04:24AM

Okay WampServer sets up an SSI Intranet, it makes it for that computer, and its intranet only... Okay, so if i read your question right yes and no...
Yes, the files can interact, ex. include();, and No, to your main question no..
The only files that work on the wampserver are the ones in C:\Wamp\WWW(unless you changed this) AND/OR if you specified a different location during setup.. So if the host machine is on your local network i guess you could. You need direct file access though, as if it were your My documents almost, you need CHMOD 777, if you know what I mean.