getting new php and apache to work together
Posted by: hoodleehoo (---.ok.ok.cox.net)
Date: February 25, 2017 12:56AM

Windows 10
wamp 2.4

Okay, be gentle, I'm new at this. I read the troubleshooting, but am not sure I follow, or know how I should proceed given the steps I've already taken.

I'm trying to update the php version, but it said my version of apache wasn't compatible so I updated it. Now both latest versions are installed, but neither will switch over because they need to both switch over at the same time, otherwise the one trying to switch will give an error because it is not compatible with the other.

I used these guides to do the update:

[forum.wampserver.com]

[john-dugan.com]

Did I mess myself up here? How would you recommend I proceed? Which would be the easiest and safest?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: getting new php and apache to work together
Posted by: Otomatic (Moderator)
Date: February 25, 2017 09:34AM

Hi,

> they need to both switch over at the same time
NO.

Please READ (and answer) BEFORE YOU ASK A QUESTION

To add a version of PHP or Apache, no need for a procedure, and especially not the one of "john-dugan" which concerns a totally obsolete version of wampserver and which also contains errors.

Simply download the desired versions from http://wampserver.aviatechno.net and install them as an administrator.
But, this can only be done on a Wampserver 3, not on obsolete old versions.

You may upgrade your 2.5 Wampserver to 3.0.3, then to 3.0.8

---------------------------------------------------------------
Documentation Apache - Documentation PHP - Documentation MySQL - Wampserver install files & addons

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/25/2017 12:07PM by Otomatic.

Date: February 25, 2017 08:05PM

I have a 2.4 and not 2.5. Is that a problem?

BTW, I did read that link before posting. Not sure what you were wanting me to read on it.

Date: February 25, 2017 09:02PM