local server - 1 of 2 services running - brick wall now
Posted by: njwebdesign (---.range86-158.btcentralplus.com)
Date: November 09, 2016 01:35AM

Windows 7 64 bit
Wamp64
No Skype!

Complete newbie here so please bear with me. I'll try and give as much information as possible.

I had wamp running successfully over a client's network with computer A acting as the server and computers B, C and D, connecting via computer A's IP address. Great.

The client installed Dropbox and Bullguard in my absence and, since then, it has all failed with WAMP displaying a yellow icon and, upon hover, the message "local server - 1 of 2 services running" displaying.

I uninstalled Dropbox and Bullguard but the problem remains <sigh>. Apache is using port 80, apparently, but when I test the port it tells me that nothing is using port 80, not even Apache! MySQL is using port 3306 and when I test that, it tells me that the correct service is using that port.

My first question is, how do I tell which service isn't running (in order to establish which is causing me the problem)?

I've tried using the "Use a port other than" for both Apache and MySQL - neither solves the problem.

My thoughts, but have no idea how to do it or am restricted from doing it....

1) Establish if the port that's being used for the service that's not running, once I establish what that is, is being used by another service.

Problem with this is that the ports are reporting as being fine.

2) Uninstall/reinstall WAMP.

I have significant data in the MySQL database but can't open PHPMyAdmin in order to do a backup.

I've hit a complete brick wall with it and something that was super easy to install, setup and configure has turned into a headache and a half.

Where do I go from here?

I'd really appreciate some pointers. I'm sure it's just a setting change somewhere but I cannot, for the life of me, figure out what's wrong.

Hope you can help.
Thank you.
NJ