error: ZipArchive extension is not enabled
Posted by: Mark One (---.160.200.146.dyn.plus.net)
Date: July 30, 2015 01:40PM

Windows version used: 8.1, 64 bit | Version WampServer: 2.5, 64 bit | Apache Version: 2.4.9 | PHP Version: 5.5.12 | MySQL Version: 5.6.17

Getting Errors when working with WP plugins that import settings from zip files - eg:

"Import failed: This could be caused because the ZipArchive extension is not enabled."

I have chcecked WAMP menu / PHP / PHO extensions and no sign of anything Zip related. Also checked PHP.ini and no mention of zip in there.

So it seems the required ZipArchive functionality is not present on my clean WAMP 2.5 install.

Can anybody please advise me how to install / enable it (I am complete noob here so please be clear with any advice).

Many thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: error: ZipArchive extension is not enabled
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.as43234.net)
Date: July 30, 2015 03:21PM

Hi Mark

Zip is built into the CORE of PHP5.5.12 see the WAMPServer homepage in the Loaded Extensions section. Or run the phpinfo() link from the homepage and look for zip and zlib

So I assume its another issue, probably a file locations problem, that error message only says This could be

Have you created a Virtual Host for your WordPress site to run in? If not then do that as its the only reliable way to run a WordPress instance.

Once thats done you will also need to check this document [codex.wordpress.org] as this will have the effect of making WordPress think it has been moved. If you are at an early stage in development it may be easier to just scrape the site and reinstall it into the new Virtual Host so that the urls stored in its database are all created correctly rather than having to fix them.

See this post for assistance creating a Virtual Host [forum.wampserver.com]

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------