how to remote access wampserver?
Posted by: huntersmith (112.168.224.---)
Date: August 04, 2014 10:53AM

Hi:

I'm new to the stuffs of web server, and just install the 32bit wampserver 2.5 in virtualbox in win 7 guest last night, the package info as follows:
Apache : 2.4.9
MySQL : 5.6.17
PHP : 5.5.12
PHPMyAdmin : 4.1.14
SqlBuddy : 1.3.3
XDebug : 2.2.5

I've followed the 2 topics of this forum, the sticky one of teaching virtual host setting, another is the 'wamp server online' whom ask for how to access wamp from out site world.

Well, after done all settings, I can access any of my 3 virtualhost site within the same localhost, but I can't access them from the host machine, it gave me a forbidden message:

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /smile.net/ on this server.
Apache/2.4.9 (Win32) PHP/5.5.12 Server at 192.168.56.120 Port 80

I've setting the guest os with two network card, first one is NAT, the second is Host-Only; and
the host-only card I gave it static ip address: 192.168.56.120, mask: 255.255.255.0, and the IPv6 ip, I just leave it as blank.

I think the settings of virtualbox is fine, guessing the problem is still on the apache settings, but can't figure it out!

Can any body help me?

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: how to remote access wampserver?
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com)
Date: August 04, 2014 12:27PM

Hi Hunter,

Well it sounds like you are getting to the VM so it is probably a permission issue

In each Vhost you need to tell it that it can be accessed by the hosts ip or better still any ip on the subnet, so try this :-

<VirtualHost *:80>
    DocumentRoot "D:/wamp/www/wamphelpers"
    ServerName wamphelpers.dev
    ServerAlias www.wamphelpers.dev
    Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
    <Directory  "D:/wamp/www/wamphelpers">
    	AllowOverride All
	Require local

Require ip 192.168.56

</Directory>
</VirtualHost>