Followed your excellent tutorial on how to setup Virtual Hosts. Got a question.
Posted by: Invictus (---.pools.arcor-ip.net)
Date: June 23, 2014 12:50PM

Dear RiggsFolly & company,

first off - thanks for WAMP!

This is my first time.

I want to develop 3 separate Wordpress sites locally and push them to the clients server when finished.

I successfully followed the tutorial on VHosts up to the point where i can now access my first project on localhost in chrome:
[forum.wampserver.com]

My Stats:
Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1
WAMP 2.5
Apache 2.4.9
MySQL 5.6.17
PHP 5.5.12

WampManager icon is green

Host file edited according to the tutorial

QUESTION:
I completed the tutorial up to the point where it is pointed out: "Now there is one more thing." and then it goes on about the "MyVirtual Hosts" menu.

As a newbie i am a bit overwhelmed there.
Do i need to continue the tutorial and move the 3 project folders out of the wamp folder structure to develop my 3 projects successfully and to be able to push them on a server without broken links or code later?

Do i need to continue to grant my client access to the developing site? (Or can i simply edit the VHosts config to allow internet access?)

So, should i go on? Or is this whole MyVirtualHosts Menu thing just an convenience issue.

I hope this is not too much of a stupid question. winking smiley

- Invictus

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Followed your excellent tutorial on how to setup Virtual Hosts. Got a question.
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com)
Date: June 23, 2014 01:02PM

Not stupid at all.

Nice question with all the relevant info included, thats a nice change.

RE: My Virtual Hosts

No you dont need to do that if you are happy as you are.
I take your point, maybe I will try and reword that a bit to make it read as simple as it is.

RE: Do i need to continue the tutorial and move the 3 project folders out of the wamp folder structure