Firewall and security issues
Posted by: Brian (---.dsl.mdsnwi.ameritech.net)
Date: January 21, 2006 07:26PM

Running Win XP with Norton Internet Security.

Are there any security issues or is there a way to configure the firewall to only allow a connection localy? I am a designer/developer and have this setup for that purpose on a box with a DSL connection. It is not on a network and there should be no reason for it to ever be connected to from any other computer.

I've had firewall warnings pop up before that a remote computer (from China) was trying to access Apache. Needless to say, that got me thinking a little more about the security issues.

Just wondering about the implications of allowing all connections to Apache and MySQL.

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Firewall and security issues
Posted by: yfastud (---.cable.mindspring.com)
Date: January 22, 2006 06:01AM

Consider to rewrite this to meet your own purpose. Notice that 127.0.0.1 is the your localhost's address

Set password:
1. Set password in privilleges in phpMyAdmin.
2. Set password in config.inc.php.

Set the permission to access PHPmyadmin and SQLitemanager (credited to Joshua).

1. open httpd.conf

2. find the lines
# Controls who can get stuff from this server.
#
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>

3. after the </directory> line above add the following:

<Directory "C:/Internet/wamp/www/phpmyadmin">
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from 127.0.0.1
</Directory>

<Directory "C:/Internet/wamp/www/sqlitemanager">
Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from 127.0.0.1
</Directory>

4. change location of the directories as your might be different from "C:/Internet/wamp/www/phpmyadmin"

Also in Alias folder (/wamp/Apache2/conf/alias), replace these lines in phpmyadmin.conf and splitemanager.conf:

Order allow,deny
Allow from all

By these lines:

Order deny,allow
Deny from all
Allow from 127.0.0.1

Good luck,

Re: Firewall and security issues
Posted by: Brian (---.dsl.mdsnwi.ameritech.net)