How to acess my Wramp Server from another computer
Posted by: MrPrajwalKoirala (---.nyc.res.rr.com)
Date: January 01, 2014 06:28AM

Hey guys can you teach me how to acess my wramp server from another computer
When i go to my computer ip from another computer nothing happens its just loading
I am using WrampServer 2.4

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: How to acess my Wramp Server from another computer
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.ppp.as43234.net)
Date: January 02, 2014 11:42AM

Hello Prajwal,

WampServr is configured by default to be accessed only from the PC that you install it onto, so that complete beginners dont get into security problems.

If you want to access the Server ( Apache ) from other PC's on your internal network this is what you should do.

First as you have WampServer 2.4 installed you should read through this document and make the suggested amendments. [forum.wampserver.com]

Once you have corrected the Apache configuration file, httpd.conf you will then be able to use the 'Put Online' / 'Put Offline' menu commands on the WampManager ( the icon in the system tray ). This will allow anyone in the universe to access your Apache server, but as long as the router is not port forwarding port 80 to the PC running Apache in reality it will mean only people on your internal network.

Alternatively, ( just in case you have port forwarded your router, or you think you might in the future) you can leave your server OffLine and just add this one line to your amended config ( httpd.conf ) file as follows.

# onlineoffline tag - do not remove
    Require local

# new line allowing all ip's in my internal network to access Apache
    Require ip 192.168.0

note the use of only 3 of the 3 quartiles of the ip address. This should be the first 3 quartiles of your internal network, and will allow any ip in the range 192.168.0.0 -> 192.168.0.255 to access the Apache server.

This will not allow access to the tools 'phpmyadmin', 'sqlbuddy' .. etc