can't ge tmy first php script to work
Posted by: Darryl (---.server.ntli.net)
Date: January 18, 2006 09:04AM

Hello People,
I am a php newbie, I have installed wamp5. I am following this basic tutorial [www.zend.com]. I've followed it precisely, I've placed the example php he gives in the correct folder, in the www root,

I go to my browser as he suggests and browse the file. file:///c:/wamp/www/myTest.php, it shows the page up but the php isn't working. Wamp5 is running, it says 1 of 2 services are running at the on the wamp5 icon.

The php file is this, I saved with the.php extension. The html in the body worked fine "Agent: So who do you think you are, anyhow?". But the "echo 'Neo: I am Neo, but my people call me The One.';" doesn't work at all. I tried out another example but still no joy. . Any suggestons would be greatly apprieciated.

<html>
<head></head>
<body>

Agent: So who do you think you are, anyhow?
<br />

<?php
// print output
echo 'Neo: I am Neo, but my people call me The One.';
?>

</body>
</html>

Thanks,

Darryl

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: can't ge tmy first php script to work
Posted by: Romain Bourdon (---.w193-251.abo.wanadoo.fr)
Date: January 18, 2006 09:48AM

You need to open your page throught [localhost]

Romain

Re: can't get my first php script to work
Date: January 18, 2006 03:15PM

Thanks Romain for that, nice one. Only I've discovered a more serious problem now, Its not related but I think it been there from the outset of installing. Wamp services isn't running Apache. Apache is greyed out in Wamp5, when I press Install Service, I get an error,

Aestan Tray Menu.

Could not execute menu item (internal error) [Exception] Could not execute run action: The system cannot find the file specified.

My operating sytem is windows 2000, I've never installed Apache before.

I've looked to see if port 80 is clear, it is. I've tried reinstalling wamp5, I get the same error.

My serverroot is, ServerRoot "c:/wamp/apache2".