Wordpress Problem
Posted by: bobchatelle (---.bstnma.east.verizon.net)
Date: February 01, 2016 01:57PM

I am brand new to wamp. I have a web site that I have worked on remotely for years. I decided to try maintaining the site locally.

I installed wamp and wordpress successfully. I then imported my pages, post, theme, and tables from the remote site.

When I bring up the site I have a navigation problem. At the remote site, a page (say pageX) will reside at mysite/pageX.

At my local site this page for some reason I don't understand resides at mysite/index.php/pageX.

I have no idea where this index.php directory came from or how to get rid of it.

-Bob Chatelle

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Wordpress Problem
Posted by: RiggsFolly (---.dynamic.dsl.as9105.com)
Date: February 01, 2016 02:06PM

Hi Bob,

I suggest you read the Wordpress codex for Moving a Wordpress site

Also I would STRONGLY recommend that you start by creating a Virtual Host to run any wordpress site in as this clears up a number of issues around the [Where does stuff live] area

Here is a post describing why a VH is a good idea and also how to go about setting them up in Apache

Oh and the `index.php` bit is actually there all the time, its the WP loader but a .htaccess file normally makes it invisible to users, so you have better check for the existance of the `.htaccess file on the live server. Again this will all work SO MUCH BETTER if you take a few minutes to create a Virtual Host.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Windows 10 Pro 64bit) (Wampserver 3.3.4 64bit) Aestan Tray Menu 3.2.5.4
<Apache versions MULTIPE> <PHP versions MULTIPLE> <MySQL Versions MULTIPLE>
<MariaDB versions MULTIPLE> <phpMyAdmin versions MULTIPLE> <MySQL Workbench 8.0.23>

Read The Manuals Apache -- MySQL -- PHP -- phpMyAdmin
Get your Apache/MySQL/mariaDB/PHP ADDONs here from the WAMPServer alternate Repo